Media Releases

NMJC Students Inducted into PTK

NMJC Students Inducted into PTK photo 3/23/2008 1:41:07 p.m. - Hobbs, NM. New Mexico Junior College recently inducted 51 students into Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society for two-year colleges, for the upcoming academic year.

At an evening ceremony on Tuesday, March 18, in Watson Hall theatre, sponsors Maria Vick, Director of Cosmetology, and Maria McCreesh, professor of cosmetology, along with outgoing sponsors Dr. John Gratton, Vice President for Instruction, and Dr. Regina Organ, Vice President for Student Services, welcomed students into PTK for the 2008-2009 academic year.

PTK's mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

In order to become a member of the PTK organization, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied toward an associate degree, maintain a grade point average of 3.5, receive an invitation for membership, and adhere to moral standards of the society.

Vick explained some of the rewards of PTK membership. "Because this is one of the most prestigious honor societies a two-year college has, Phi Theta Kappa members wind up with more honors, awards, and service opportunities than most other students. They also tend to receive more scholarship opportunities from four-year colleges. It's definitely an honor and a benefit to be a member."

Students inducted for the 2008-2009 academic year are as follows: John Abeyta, Colorado Springs, CO; Dalia Aranda, Hobbs, NM; Elizabeth Aranda, Hobbs, NM; Emily Bingham, Hobbs, NM; Shawnlee Caballero, Hobbs, NM; Andrea Chance, Hobbs, NM; Kelley Chapman, Jal, NM; Cecily Coleman, Hobbs, NM; Seth Dobbs, Hobbs, NM; Billy Factor, Seminole, TX; Nicholas Fregia, Hobbs, NM; Sheri Friday, Denver City, TX; Sommer Garcia, Hobbs, NM; Meagan Gonzalez, Hobbs, NM; Brandi Goodwin, Hobbs, NM; Lorenzo Guzman, Hobbs, NM; Sarah Harris, Hobbs, NM; Dana Havink, Hobbs, NM; Marlene Henry, Hobbs, NM; Kristi Hinojos, Hobbs, NM; Amanda Howard, Seminole, TX; Julie Jett, Hobbs, NM; Donald Johnson, Seminole, TX; Kallie Lamb, Hobbs, NM; Ana Leo, Hobbs, NM; Kristi Lyn Lewis, Hobbs, NM; Yu Liu, Hobbs, NM; Diana Lopez, Hobbs, NM; Jessica McGraw, Hobbs, NM; John McGraw, Hobbs, NM; Holly Mee, Hobbs, NM; Jason Merrell, Andrews, TX; Joe Miller, Hobbs, NM; Lucero Munoz, Hobbs, NM; Dayna Norman, Hobbs, NM; Amy Ojeda, Hobbs, NM; Corin Olivas, Hobbs, NM; Calley Pritchett, Levelland, TX; Donald Riggins, Hobbs, NM; Shalana Rodriguez, Lovington, NM; Michael Rushing, Hobbs, NM; Andrea Sanchez, Denver City, TX; Brittany Sharp, Hobbs, NM; Christopher Simpson, Hobbs, NM; Lori Simpson, Hobbs, NM; Anna Sterling, Tatum, NM; Jeffrey Thurlow, Hampden, ME; Diana Villegas, Denver City, TX; James Voight, Hobbs, NM; Veronica Welch, Tatum, NM; and Casey Wilbanks, Lovington, NM.

Officers are Denise Rusk, President; Lenora Peters, Vice President; and Renee Reynolds, Secretary/Treasurer. All three officers are from Hobbs, NM.

All Stories

RSS logo

:Events Calendar:  :Focus on Faces:  :Photo Galleries:  :Video Gallery: